header shadow

Awards and Recognitions

A Tradition of Excellence

For more than four decades, Iowa State University has bestowed the Stange Award as the premier recognition given to veterinary medical alumni. The recipients are recognized for outstanding professional achievements in education, government, industry, practice or other professional endeavors in veterinary medicine.

Stange Award Recipient Roll of Honor:

2015 Stange Award Recipients:

Dr. Marion Anders (’60) Dr. Kenneth Harkin (’89) Dr. Howard Moore (’74)

See a list of past Stange Award Recipients

The William P. Switzer Award:

The William P. Switzer Award was created in 1998 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society and to the ISU College of Veterinary Medicine. Nominees may be veterinarians or non-veterinarians, alumni or non-alumni. In addition to professional achievements, these individuals will also have had an association with the College that has made a positive impact for teaching, research or service.

The Switzer Award was named to honor an ISU researcher who made major contributions to our understanding of swine respiratory diseases. Dr. William P. Switzer served as a faculty member and administrator in the College of Veterinary Medicine from 1948 until he retired as Distinguished Professor Emeritus in 1990.

2015 William P. Switzer Award Recipient:

Dr. Ron Grier (’65)

See a list of past William P. Switzer Award Recipients

Nomination Forms:

An Alumni and Faculty Awards Committee manages the nomination process for both the Stange and Switzer Awards. Nomination are due by February 15 so that recipients can be selected by spring, for recognition at Homecoming events in the fall. For more information about the process, please contact: Tracy Ann Raef.

Download nomination form

Recipients of the Stange Award and the Switzer Award are recognized on Homecoming weekend during an Honors and Awards Ceremony that includes the most accomplished alumni from each of Iowa State's eight colleges. The president of Iowa State University presents the awards, and the Iowa State University Alumni Association sponsors this program.

A college awards program is also scheduled on Homecoming weekend so that former classmates, past awardees, faculty and others can celebrate the accomplishments and accolades of Stange and Switzer awards recipients.