header shadow

ISU Veterinary Students Win Scholarships

March 12, 2009

Ms. Tracy Ann Raef, Veterinary Communications, (515) 294-4602

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation awarded scholarships totaling $25,000 to 15 veterinary students during the AASV annual meeting in Dallas, Texas. Five of the 15 students receiving scholarships were from Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine.

Brent Carmichael received the $5,000 scholarship for top student presentation. Brent is a second-year veterinary student at Iowa State University. His presentation was titled "Pre-colostral stillborn piglet blood sampling procedure when a PRRSv positive sow herd is being monitored for time-to-negative interval.” Alpharma Animal Health provided the financial support for the Top Student Presenter award.
Two second-year veterinary students won $2,500 scholarships for their presentations at the student seminar: Joe Bender (VM3) and Peter Lasley (VM1). Third-year veterinary student Jess Waddell received a $1,500 scholarship and second-year student Emily McDowell (VM2) received a $500 scholarship. These scholarships were provided by Eli Lilly and Company Foundation, on behalf of Elanco Animal Health.
Forty-six veterinary students representing 17 universities submitted abstracts for consideration. From those submissions, fifteen students were selected to present during the annual meeting. Judges representing private practice, academia and industry selected the recipients on the basis of communications skills in the writing of the abstract and the presentation of the case report, and on applicability of the research to swine medicine.