header shadow



Anumantha Kanthasamy, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Eugene and Linda Lloyd Chair
Department of Biomedical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Anumantha Kanthasamy is the founding Director of the ICAN and his research program centers on effects of environmental neurotoxic chemicals on the nervous system, with major emphasis on Parkinson’s Disease and other related neurodegenerative diseases.  Dr. Kanthasamy is leading a strong NIH-funded research program in the College of Veterinary Medicine that focuses on characterization of cellular/molecular mechanisms underlying the pathogenesis of Parkinson’s and prion diseases and development of mechanism-based translational strategies.  Dr. Kanthasamy is the Chair of the Interdepartmental Toxicology Graduate Program at Iowa State, which has about 25 graduate students.  Dr. Kanthasamy serves on many prestigious review panels including NIH Study Section and has been frequently invited to present his work at many national and international meetings.

Supervisory Committee:

Anumantha Kanthasamy (Director)
Jim Bloedel (Chair, Dept. of Biomedical Sciences)
Srdija Jeftinija
Richard Martin
Juergen Richt
Donald Sakaguchi 
Ravindra Singh



The College of Veterinary Medicine

Anumantha Kanthasamy (BMS) Richard Martin (BMS)
Terry Engelken (VDPAM) Arthi Kanthasamy (BMS)
Heather Greenlee (BMS) Srdija Jeftinija (BMS)
Eric Rowe (BMS) Steve Ensley (VDPAM)
Walter Hsu (BMS) Dusan Palic (BMS)
Vellareddy Anantharam (BMS) Jim Bloedel (BMS)
Qijing Zhang Ravindra Singh (BMS)
Mehrdad Ameri (VDPAM)  Bryan Bellaire(VMPM)


The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Matthew Ellinwood (ANSCI)  Joel Coats (ENT)
Marit Nilsen-Hamilton (BBMB) Lloyd Anderson (ANSCI)


The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Don Sakaguchi (GDCB)  George Kraus (CHEM)

College of Human Sciences

Manju Reddy (FSHN)  


College of Engineering

Surya Mallapragada (Chem Eng) Balaji Narasimhan (Chem Bio Eng)
Krishna Rajan (Mat Sci Eng)

National Animal Disease Center (NADC)

Marcus Kehrli Eric Nicholson
Justin Greenlee