header shadow

Beef

A  B  C  D  E  F G H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T U  V  W    VDPAM INDEX

 

The state of Iowa ranks in the top 10 nationally in number of beef cows, cattle on feed, and total cattle numbers.  The beef industry is both vibrant and diverse and represents an economic impact of approximately $5 billion annually to the state.  The VDPAM Beef Team helps producers and veterinarians in the Midwest deal with animal health and production problems that they face on a daily basis.  This assistance may range from telephone consultation to actual on-farm visits with members of our team.  We also serve as the face of the College of Veterinary Medicine when working with various industry organizations, the ISU Extension Service, and the Iowa Beef Center.  Our goal is to provide producers and practitioners with timely and accurate information that meets their animal health and educational needs.

The Beef Team has a wide array of expertise, areas of interest, and experience.  Important disciplines such as toxicology, diagnostic pathology, epidemiology, and beef cattle production medicine can all be utilized to diagnose animal health problems and design cost-effective solutions.  The team is also capable of providing consultation on trial design and data analysis for field-based research protocols. 

QUICK LINKS

 

Courses

Faculty 

CONTACT INFO

FSVM
Food Supply Veterinary Medicine
2412 Lloyd Veterinary Medicine
Iowa State University
Ames, IA  50011
515-294-3837

 

 

 

 


 

Contact Information:

Dr. Terry Engelken
Terry J. Engelken, DVM MS
Cow/calf and Feedlot
515-294-2192
engelken@iastate.edu
Annette O'Connor
Annette O'Connor
BVSc, MVSc, DVSc, FACVSc
Epidemiology
515-294-5012
oconnor@iastate.edu
Shaun Sweiger
Shaun Sweiger, DVM MS
Feedlot and Cow/calf
405-641-4082
ssweiger@iastate.edu
Dr. Vicki Cooper
Vicki Cooper, DVM PhD
Diagnostics and Disease Prevention
515-294-1950
vcooper@iastate.edu
Dr. Grant Dewell

Grant Dewell, DVM, MS, PhD
Beef Production Medicine, Epidemiology, Economics, Food Safety
515-294-2822
gdewell@iastate.edu

Dr. Steve Ensley
Steve Ensley, DVM PhD
Toxicology and Disease Prevention
515-294-2783
sensley@iastate.edu