header shadow

Faculty

A  B  C  D  E  F G H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T U  V  W    VDPAM INDEX

 

Dr. Terry Engelken Terry Engelken, Section Leader
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Cow - Calf and Stocker
515-294-2192
engelken@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
  1. Effect of suckling calf disease on end product quality of beef
  2. Respiratory disease in the suckling beef calf ("summer pneumonia")
  3. The effect of nutritional management on cow/calf productivity
  4. Production economics of cow/calf operations
Dr. Vicki Cooper

V.L. Cooper
Senior Clinician/Pathologist
BVD, Beef Cattle, Dairy, Caprine, Equine, Canine, Feline
515-294-1950
vcooper@iastate.edu

Dr. Grant Dewell

Grant Dewell
Assistant Professor
Extension
Beef Production Medicine, Epidemiology, Economics, Food Safety
gdewell@iastate.edu
515-294-2822

Dr. Renee Dewell Renee Dewell
Clinician
Beef Production Medicine, Biological Risk Management, Food Safety, Welfare
rdewell@iastate.edu
515-294-3837
Dr. Steve Ensley

Steve Ensley
Clinician/Toxicology Section Leader
Toxicology, Field Investigation of Tox Issues, Drinking Water Quality
515-294-1950
sensley@iastate.edu

Research Interests:

  1. Investigating the adverse health effects of feeding corn co-products
  2. Sulfur toxicity in ruminants
  3. Micromineral analysis in production animals
  4. Environmental impact of antibiotics used in production animals
Annette O'Connor Annette O'Connor
Associate Professor
Epidemiology, BVDV, Pink-eye, Salmonella
515-294-5012
oconnor@iastate.edu

Research Interests:
  1. Application of quantitative epidemiology to infectious diseases and food safety
  2. Respiratory disease in cattle
  3. Infectious bovine kerato-conjunctivitus
  4. Appropriate study design and inference in livestock and food safety research
  5. Pre-harvest food safety and the ecology of Salmonella in pork
  6. The development of antimicrobial resistance
Dr. Paul Plummer

Paul Plummer
Clinician
Ruminant Medicine and Surgery, Molecular Biology, Campylobacter
515-294-8522
pplummer@iastate.edu

Dr. Shaun Sweiger

Shaun Sweiger
Lecturer
Beef Production Medicine, Feedlot Cattle, Evidence-Based Practice
515-294-7179
ssweiger@iastate.edu