header shadow

Licensure & Faculty

State licensure is required to practice at Iowa State University

Outside employment is only permitted if approved by the Department Chair and no veterinary practice is permitted within the State of Iowa. The exception to this is speaking engagements.

Faculty in Support of the Small Animal Internal Medicine Residency Program

Internal Medicine

Albert E. Jergens, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM (Internal Medicine)


Bonnie H. Kraus, DVM, Diplomate ACVA
Dean H. Riedesel, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVA


Wendy A. Ware, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM (Cardiology)

Community Practice

Brenda Mulherin, DVM
Bianca Zaffarano, DVM


James O. Noxon, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM (Internal Medicine)
Diana Miller, DVM

Emergency and Critical Care Medicine

Michael Curtis, DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVA


Rod Bagley, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM (Neurology) – practice limited to consultation


Leslie E. Fox, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM (Internal Medicine)


Kristina G. Miles, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVR
Elizabeth L. Riedesel, DVM, Diplomate ACVR


Karl Kraus, DVM, Diplomate ACVS
William D. Hoefle, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS
Mary Sarah Bergh, DVM, Diplomate ACVS