VPM Graduate Faculty

Name Focus Areas Phone E-mail
Arruda, Bailey
DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Pestivirus, PED, Pestivirus 515-294-5750 wilberts@iastate.edu
Baum, David
DVM, MS, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Serology 515-294-1186 dhbaum@iastate.edu
Blitvich, Bradley
B.Sc., Ph.D.
Professor
515-294-9861 blitvich@iastate.edu
Borts, David J.
PhD
Assistant Professor
Pharmacology Analytical Support Team (PhAST) 515-294-3912 dborts@iastate.edu
Burrough, Eric R
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor
Pathology, Brachyspira, Enteric Diseases of Swine 515-294-0190 burrough@iastate.edu
Danielson, Jared A
MS, PhD
Associate Dean
515-294-7945 jadaniel@iastate.edu
Derscheid, Rachel Jean
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Assistant Professor
Pathology 515-294-1173 rdersch@iastate.edu
Dewell, Grant
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Epidemiology, Economics, Food Safety 515-294-2822 gdewell@iastate.edu
Dickson, James
MS, PhD
Professor
515-294-4733 jdickson@iastate.edu
Dohlman, Tyler
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACT
Assistant Professor
Theriogenology 515-294-1095 tdohlman@iastate.edu
Dorman, Karin
PhD
Professor
515-294-1457, 515-294-6078 kdorman@iastate.edu
El-Gazzar, Mohamed Medhat
DVM, MAM, PhD, Diplomate ACPV
Assistant Professor
Poultry 515-294-1763 elgazzar@iastate.edu
Engelken, Terry
DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Cow - Calf and Stocker 515-294-2192 engelken@iastate.edu
Gauger, Phillip C.
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Pathology, Virology, Swine Influenza, PED, PRRSV, PCV2 515-294-2437 pcgauger@iastate.edu
Gimenez-Lirola, Luis
MS, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Serology 515-294-1796 luisggl@iastate.edu
Gorden, Patrick J
DVM, PhD, ABVP-Dairy
Clinical Professor
Dairy Production Medicine, Milk Quality 515-294-3096 pgorden@iastate.edu
Griffith, Ronald W
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Professor
515-294-0902 rgriffit@iastate.edu
Halbur, Pat
DVM, MS, PhD
Professor and Chair
Circovirus, Hepatitis E Virus, Swine Respiratory Disease, PRRSV 515-294-9860 pghalbur@iastate.edu
Harmon, Karen M.
PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics, Characterization of Animal Bacteria and Viruses 515-294-1950 kharmon@iastate.edu
Hoff, Steven
MS, PhD
Professor
515-294-6180 hoffer@iastate.edu
Holtkamp, Derald J
DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Swine Disease Risk Assessment, Economics of Disease 515-294-9611 holtkamp@iastate.edu
Honeyman, Mark
MS, PhD
Associate Dean
515-294-4621 honeyman@iastate.edu
Jergens, Albert
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM (SAIM)
Professor
515-294-4900 ajergens@iastate.edu
Kaiser, Mark
MS, MA, PhD
Professor
515-294-8871 mskaiser@iastate.edu
Karriker, Locke A.
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVPM
Professor
Systems, Treatment of Swine Diseases, Field Study Design, Evidence-Based Practice 515-294-6970 karriker@iastate.edu
Li, Ganwu
MS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Molecular, Microbiology 515-294-3358 liganwu@iastate.edu
Linhares, Daniel C L
DVM, MBA, PhD
Assistant Professor
Swine Production Medicine, PRRS 515-294-9358 linhares@iastate.edu
Madson, Darin
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor
Swine - Nursery/Grow Finish Health 515-294-9808 madson@iastate.edu
Main, Rodger
DVM, PhD
Director
Diagnostic Medicine, Area Regional Disease Control, Swine Production Medicine 515-294-6945 rmain@iastate.edu
Miller, Cathy
BA, PhD
Associate Professor
515-294-4797 clm@iastate.edu
Millman, Suzanne T

Professor
515-294-2817 smillman@iastate.edu
Mochel, Jonathan Paul M
DVM, MSc, PhD, Diplomate ECVPT
Associate Professor
515-294-7424 jmochel@iastate.edu
O'Connor, Annette M
BVSc, MVSc, DVSc, FANZCVS (Epidemiology)
Professor
Epidemiology, Research synthesis, Zoonotic Disease-food safety, Salmonella, Infectious diseases of cattle - BVDV, Pink-eye 515-294-5012 oconnor@iastate.edu
Opriessnig, Tanja I
DVM, PhD
Professor
Pathology, Porcine Circovirus, Erysipelas, Hepatitis E Virus, Porcine Parvovirus, Swine Respiratory Diseases 515-294-1137 tanjaopr@iastate.edu
Phillips, Gregory J
M.A., Ph.D.
Professor
515-294-1525 gregory@iastate.edu
Pineyro, Pablo
DVM, MVSc, DVSc, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Swine medicine, PRRSV, PCV2, SVA, PEDV 515-294-6250 pablop@iastate.edu
Paul Plummer Plummer, Paul J
DVM, Diplomate ACVIM-LA
Associate Professor
Ruminant Medicine and Surgery, Molecular Biology, Campylobacter 515-294-8522 pplummer@iastate.edu
Ramirez, Alejandro "Alex"
DVM, MPH, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM
Associate Professor
Zoonotic Diseases and Public Health, Swine Production Medicine 515-294-7463 ramireza@iastate.edu
Roth, James A.
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Distinguished Professor
515-294-8459 jaroth@iastate.edu
Rumbeiha, Wilson K
DVM, PhD
Professor
Toxicology/Nutrition 515-294-0630 rumbeiha@iastate.edu
Sahin, Orhan
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Assistant Professor
Bacteriology 515-294-3861 osahin@iastate.edu
Sato, Yuko
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACPV
Assistant Professor
Poultry Diagnostics and Production Medicine 515-294-0710 ysato@iastate.edu
Schleining, Jennifer
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS-LA
Associate Professor
Large Animal Surgery, Camelids 515-294-1500 jschlein@iastate.edu
Shearer, Jan
DVM, MS
Professor
Dairy Production Medicine, Lameness, Animal Welfare 515-294-3731 jks@iastate.edu
Stevenson, Gregory
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Professor
Pathology, Swine Diseases, Diagnostic Medicine in Food Production Animals 515-294-1124 stevengw@iastate.edu
Timms, Leo
MS, PhD
Morrill Professor
515-294-4522 ltimms@iastate.edu
Wang, Chong
PhD
Associate Professor
515-294-3836 chwang@iastate.edu
Yoon, Kyoungjin J.
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Professor
Viral Diseases and Diagnostics, PRRS, PED, Influenza, Parainfluenza, Rotavirus, Senecavirus, Techovirus 515-294-1083 kyoon@iastate.edu
Zhang, Jianqiang
MD, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics 515-294-8024 jqzhang@iastate.edu
Zimmerman, Jeffrey J
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM-Specialty Epidemiology
Professor
Ecology of Viral Infections of Swine 515-294-1073 jjzimm@iastate.edu