header shadow

Faculty and Staff

 



A
   B   C   D   E   F   G     I   J       L     N   O   P   Q   R   S    T   U    V  W   X   Y   Z
VDPAM Administration
Dr Pat Halbur

Patrick Halbur, DVM, MS, PhD
Chair of VDPAM, Executive Director of ISU VDL
Circovirus, Hepatitis E Virus, Swine Respiratory Disease, PRRSV
515-294-8791
pghalbur@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Rodger Main Rodger Main, DVM, PhD
Director of ISU VDL
515-294-1950
rmain@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Dr. Pat Gorden

Pat Gorden, DVM, ABVP-Dairy
Director of Operations FSVM
Dairy Production Medicine, Milk Quality
515-294-3096
pgorden@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

VDPAM Faculty
  Paulo Arruda, DVM, MS, PhD
VDL, Clinician
Swine production medicine, food animal diagnostic pathology
515-294-1950
paulohea@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
David Baum David Baum, DVM, MS, PhD
VDL, Senior Clinician
Serology
515-294-1950
dhbaum@iastate.edu
Dr. Danelle Bickett-Weddle Danelle Bickett-Weddle
FSVM, Associate Director, Center for Food Safety and Public Health
Biosecurity, Public Health, Dairy Production and Nutrition
515-294-1492
dbweddle@iastate.edu
Dr Eric Burroough 

Eric Burrough, DVM, PhD, DACVP
VDL, Assistant Professor
Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica Professorship in Food Animal Infectious Diseases
Pathology, Brachyspira-associated Disease, Campylobacter
burrough@iastate.edu
515-294-1950
Curriculum Vitae

Hans Coetzee

Hans Coetzee, BVSc, Cert CHP, PhD, DACVCP
VDL, Associate Professor
PhAST, Section Leader
Clinical Pharmacology, Bovine anaplasmosis, Pain assessment and management in food animals

515-294-7424
515-294-3912 (lab)
hcoetzee@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. VL Cooper V.L. Cooper, DVM, MS, PhD
VDL, Senior Clinician
Pathology
BVD, Beef Cattle, Dairy, Caprine, Equine, Canine, Feline
515-294-1950
vcooper@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Rachel Derscheid, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVP
VDL, Assistant Professor
Pathology
515-294-1950

Curriculum Vitae

Grant Dewell, DVM, MS, PhD
Extension, Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Epidemiology, Economics, Food Safety
515-294-2822
gdewell@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Beef Extension Website

Tyler Dohlman

Tyler Dohlman, DVM
Adjunct Instructor
Theriogenology
515-294-3837
tdohlman@iastate.edu

Dr. Terry Engelken

Terry Engelken, DVM, MS
FSVM, Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Cow - Calf and Stocker
515-294-2192
engelken@iastate.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Steve Ensley, DVM, PhD
VDL, Senior Clinician
Toxicology/Nutrition, Section Leader
Toxicology, Field Investigation of Tox Issues, Drinking Water Quality
515-294-1950
sensley@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Phil Gauger Phil Gauger, DVM
VDL, Assistant Professor
Pathology, Virology, Swine Influenza, PRRSV, PCV2
515-294-1950
pcgauger@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Dr Karen Harmon Karen Harmon, PhD
VDL, Clinician
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics
Molecular Diagnostics, Characterization of Animal Bacteria and Viruses
515-294-1950
kharmon@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Lorraine Hoffman
VDL, Professor Emeritus
Diagnostic Bacteriology, Antimibrobial Susceptibility Testing
515-294-1100
lhoffman@iastate.edu
Dr. Derald Holtkamp Derald Holtkamp, DVM, MS
FSVM, Associate Professor
Swine Disease Risk Assessment, Economics of Disease
515-294-9611
holtkamp@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Dr. Paula Imerman Paula Imerman, MS, PhD
VDL, Associate Scientist
Toxicology/Nutrition, Chemistry Lab Manager
515-294-1950
pmartin@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Marianna jahnke

Marianna Jahnke, MS
FSVM, Lecturer
Embryo Transfer, Bovine Reproduction
515-294-9110
marianna@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr Locke Karriker Locke Karriker, DVM, MS, DACVPM
FSVM, Associate Professor
Systems, Treatment of Swine Diseases, Field Study Design,
Evidence-Based Practice
515-294-2283
karriker@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Joann Kinyon Joann Kinyon, MS
VDL, Assistant Scientist
Clinical Microbiology
515-294-1950
jkinyon@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Amanda Kreuder, DVM, DACVIM (LAIM)
FSVM, Clinician
Food Animal Medicine and Surgery
515-294-2798
akreuder@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Adam Krull, DVM
FSVM, Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dairy Production Medicine, Food Animal Microbiology
515-294-2798
dockrull@iastate.edu

Ganwu Li

Ganwu Li
VDL, Assistant Professor
Molecular, Microbiology
515-294-3470
liganwu@iastate.edu

Darin Madson, DVM, PhD, DACVP
VDL, Associate Professor
Pathology, Section Leader
Swine - Nursery/Grow Finish Health
515-294-1950
madson@iastate.edu

Drew Magstadt, DVM
VDL, Adjunct Instructor
515-294-1950
magstadt@iastate.edu

Suzanne Millman (Hartline), PhD
FSVM, Associate Professor
Animal Welfare
515-294-2817
smillman@iastate.edu
Profile

Animal Welfare Program

Curriculum Vitae

Annette O'Connor Annette O'Connor, BVSc, MVSc, DVSc, FACVSc
FSVM, Professor
Epidemiology, Research synthesis, Zoonotic Disease-food safety, Salmonella, Infectious diseases of cattle - BVDV, Pink-eye,
515-294-5012
oconnor@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Website
 

Tanja Opriessnig, DVM, PhD
VDL, Professor
Pathology, Porcine Circovirus, Erysipelas, Hepatitis E Virus, Porcine Parvovirus, Swine Respiratory Diseases
515-294-1950
tanjaopr@iastate.edu
 

Patrick E Phillips, DVM, DACT
FSVM, Senior Clinician
Theriogenology
515-294-4244
ovadoc@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
 

Dr. Pablo Pineyro

Pablo E. Pineyro, DVM, MVSc, DVSc
VDL, Clinician
Pathology
515-294-1950
pablop@iastate.edu

Cassandra Plummer, DVM, PhD
FSVM, Lecturer
Small Ruminant Medicine and Surgery, Theriogenology
515-294-7074
cplummer@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Paul Plummer, DVM, PhD, DACVIM(LAIM)
FSVM, Assistant Professor
Ruminant Medicine and Surgery, Molecular Biology, Campylobacter
515-294-8522
pplummer@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
 

Chris Rademacher, DVM
Extension, Senior Clinician
Swine Production Medicine
515-294-8792
cjrdvm@iastate.edu

Alex Ramirez Alex Ramirez, DVM, MPH, DACVPM
FSVM, Associate Professor
Zoonotic Diseases and Public Health, Swine Production Medicine
515-294-7463
ramireza@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Dr. Wilson Rumbeiha

Wilson Rumbeiha, DVM, PhD, DABVT, DABT
VDL, Professor
Toxicology/Nutrition
515-294-1950
rumbeiha@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Jennifer Schleining

Jennifer Schleining, DVM, MS, DACVS
FSVM,Associate Professor
Large Animal Surgery, Camelids
515-294-1720
jschlein@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Kent Schwartz, DVM
VDL, Senior Clinician
Pathology, Swine and Beef Diagnostics, Evidence-Based Practice
515-294-1950
kschwart@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Dr. Jan Shearer

Jan Shearer, DVM, MS
Extension, Professor
Dairy Production Medicine, Lameness, Animal Welfare
515-294-3731
jks@iastate.edu
Dairy Extension Website
Biography
Curriculum Vitae

Greg Stevenson, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVP
VDL, Professor
Pathology
515-294-1950
stevengw@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Dr. John Thomson 

John Thomson
VDL, Professor and Dean Emeritus
Evidence-based medicine, Bovine production medicine
515-294-8791
thomson@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Leo Timms, MS, PhD
Veterinary Extension, Professor
Dairy Production Medicine and Extension
515-294-4522
ltimms@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Chong Wang, MS, PhD
VDPAM, Associate Professor and Biostatistician
515-294-3836
chwang@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae
Website

Dr. Bailey Wilberts Bailey Wilberts, DVM
VDL, Assistant Professor
Pathology
515-294-1950
wilberts@iastate.edu

KJ Yoon

Kyoungjin Yoon, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVM
VDL, Professor
Virology, Section Leader
Viral Diseases, PRRSV, Influenza, PCV2, Development of Diagnostic Tools
515-294-1950
kyoon@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

 Dr. JQ Zhang

Jianqiang Zhang, M.D., MS, PhD
VDL, Assistant Professor
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics
515-294-1950
jqzhang@iastate.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Jeff Zimmerman

Jeffrey Zimmerman, DVM, MS, PhD
FSVM, Professor
Ecology of Viral Infections of Swine
515-294-1950
jjzimm@iastate.edu
 
Curriculum Vitae

   

VDPAM Collaborators

Mike Apley
Josh Ellingson
Matthew Erdman
Brian Fergen
Sandra Goff
Joseph Hermann
Jason Hocker
Doug Hostetler
Yao Jiancong
Mark Kirkpatrick
Eric Nicholson
Daryl Olson
David Prentice
Julia Ridpath
Jason Ross
Mary West
Roongroje Thanawongnuwech
Monteserrat Torremorrell Alos
Brad Thacker


Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Tom Carson
Dr. Paul Eness
Dr. Hank Harris
Dr. Nolan Hartwig
Dr. Lorraine Hoffman
Dr. James Holter
Dr. David Hopper
Dr. Walt Hyde
Dr. Jerry Kunesh
Dr. Gary Osweiler
Dr. Vaughn Seaton
Dr. John Thomson
Dr. Wallace Wass

 


VDPAM Sections

Administration

Pat Halbur

Extension

Beef, Grant Dewell
Dairy, Jan Shearer
Poultry, open
Swine, Chris Rademacher

FSVM

Administration
Pat Gorden

Beef
Terry Engelken*
Grant Dewell
Renee Dewell
Annette O'Connor
Paul Plummer
James Thompson

Dairy
Pat Gorden*
Danielle Bickett-Weddle
Amanda Kreuder
Paul Plummer
Jan Shearer
Leo Timms
Josh Ydstie

Swine
Alex Ramirez*
Derald Holtkamp


Locke Karriker
Chris Rademacher

Field Services and Food Animal and Camelid Hospital
Pat Gorden - Director of Operations
Troy Brick
Grant Dewell
Terry Engelken
Amanda Kreuder

Paul Plummer
Jennifer Schleining
Kelly Still Brooks

Josh Ydstie

Small Ruminant
Cassandra Plummer*
Paul Plummer
Jennifer Schleining
Leo Timms

Embryo Transfer
Tyler Dohlman
Marianna Jahnke
Pat Phillips

Theriogenology
Pat Phillips*
Tyler Dohlman
Marianna Jahnke
Cassandra Plummer

VDL

Administration
Rodger Main

Bacteriology
Joann Kinyon
Adam Krull

Pathology
Darren Madson*
Paulo Arruda
Eric Burrough
V.L. Cooper
Rachel Derscheid
Drew Magstadt
Tanja Opriessnig
Pablo Pineyro
Kent Schwartz
Greg Stevenson
Bailey Wilberts

PhAST (Pharmacology Analytical Support Team)
Hans Coetzee*

Serology
David Baum*
Tanja Opriessnig

Molecular and Viral Diagnostics
Phil Gauger*
Karen Harmon
Ganwu Li
Kyoungjin Yoon
Jianqiang Zhang

Toxicology/Nutrition
Steve Ensley*
Paula Imerman
Wilson Rumbeiha

* Section Leader