Howard Receives AAVMC Iverson Bell Award

January 12, 2024

Dr. Monica Howard, assistant dean of veterinary student success in the College of Veterinary Medicine, has been named the recipient of the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) 2024 Iverson Bell Award.

The Iverson Bell Award is awarded to individuals who have played a significant role in the recruitment, development, and retention of pre-vet and DVM students, faculty, residents and interns from underrepresented or disadvantaged and/or marginalized groups. Recipients have included and promoted diversity in the veterinary medical profession through the inclusion and infusion of diversity issues in the college environment through programming and curriculum additions.

Howard is un unyielding champion for all College of Veterinary Medicine students and is a constant advocate and resource for students underrepresented in veterinary medicine while working closely with students on issues of mental and physical wellbeing.

A veterinarian by profession, Howard has diverse roles in the college and serves in a number of capacities. She serves on countless college committees and is a liaison for several Iowa State University campus service offices. She coordinates the more than 35 student organizations, including serving as co-advisor for CVM Spectrum.

Howard is responsible for many college events and activities including the annual White Coat Ceremony, Freshman Seminar Series for the entering VM1 class, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln-Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine, transfer student admissions, and the Federal Accreditation Core Orientation for VM3 students. 

She has responsibilities as the college’s Director of Multicultural Student Success, is a member of the University Committee on Disabilities and serves as the Deputy Title IX Coordinator for the Office of Equal Opportunity.

 A DVM graduate of Tuskegee University in 1982, Howard also earned a PhD in veterinary pathology from Oklahoma State University in 1990. She has been a member of the College of Veterinary Medicine faculty and staff since 1990.