VDL Faculty Directory

Administration

Dr Pat Halbur

Patrick Halbur, DVM, MS, PhD
Chair of VDPAM, Executive Director of ISU VDL
Circovirus, Hepatitis E Virus, Swine Respiratory Disease, PRRSV
515-294-5528
pghalbur@iastate.edu

Dr. Rodger Main Rodger Main, DVM, PhD
Director of ISU VDL
515-294-1950
rmain@iastate.edu

Faculty

Name Title Focus Areas E-mail
Arruda, Bailey
DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor Pathology, Pestivirus, PED, Pestivirus wilberts@iastate.edu
Arruda, Paulo
DVM, MS, PhD
Assistant Professor Swine Production Medicine, Food Animal Diagnostic Pathology, Pestivirus paulohea@iastate.edu
Baum, David
DVM, MS, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor Serology dhbaum@iastate.edu
Borts, David J.
PhD
Assistant Professor Pharmacology Analytical Support Team (PhAST) dborts@iastate.edu
Burrough, Eric R
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor Pathology, Brachyspira, Enteric Diseases of Swine burrough@iastate.edu
Clavijo-Michelangeli, Mari
DVM, PhD
Research Assistant Professor Bacteriology, Mycoplasma mclavijo@iastate.edu
Cooper, V.L.
DVM, MS, PhD
Clinical Professor BVD, Beef Cattle, Dairy, Caprine, Equine, Canine, Feline vcooper@iastate.edu
Derscheid, Rachel Jean
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Assistant Professor Pathology rdersch@iastate.edu
Ensley, Steve
DVM, PhD
Clinical Professor Toxicology, Field Investigation of Tox Issues, Drinking Water Quality sensley@iastate.edu
Gauger, Phillip C.
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor Pathology, Virology, Swine Influenza, PED, PRRSV, PCV2 pcgauger@iastate.edu
Harmon, Karen M.
PhD
Clinical Associate Professor Molecular and Viral Diagnostics, Characterization of Animal Bacteria and Viruses kharmon@iastate.edu
Krull, Adam
DVM, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor Microbiology, Metagenomics, Bovine Digital Dermatitis, Johne’s Disease, Salmonella dockrull@iastate.edu
Li, Ganwu
MS, PhD
Assistant Professor Molecular, Microbiology liganwu@iastate.edu
Madson, Darin
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor Swine - Nursery/Grow Finish Health madson@iastate.edu
Magstadt, Drew R
DVM, MS
Clinical Assistant Professor Diagnostic Pathology, PRRS, PED, Pestivirus magstadt@iastate.edu
Opriessnig, Tanja I
DVM, PhD
Professor Pathology, Porcine Circovirus, Erysipelas, Hepatitis E Virus, Porcine Parvovirus, Swine Respiratory Diseases tanjaopr@iastate.edu
Pineyro, Pablo
DVM, MVSc, DVSc, PhD
Assistant Professor Pathology, Swine medicine, PRRSV, PCV2, SVA, PEDV pablop@iastate.edu
Rumbeiha, Wilson K
DVM, PhD
Professor Toxicology/Nutrition rumbeiha@iastate.edu
Sahin, Orhan
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Assistant Professor Bacteriology osahin@iastate.edu
Sato, Yuko
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACPV
Assistant Professor Poultry Diagnostics and Production Medicine ysato@iastate.edu
Schwartz, Kent J
DVM, MS
Clinical Professor Pathology, Swine and Beef Diagnostics, Evidence-Based Practice, Pestivirus kschwart@iastate.edu
Stevenson, Gregory
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Professor Pathology, Swine Diseases, Diagnostic Medicine in Food Production Animals stevengw@iastate.edu
Yoon, Kyoungjin J.
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Professor Viral Diseases and Diagnostics, PRRS, PED, Influenza, Parainfluenza, Rotavirus, Senecavirus, Techovirus kyoon@iastate.edu
Zhang, Jianqiang
MD, MS, PhD
Associate Professor Molecular and Viral Diagnostics jqzhang@iastate.edu
Zimmerman, Jeffrey J
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM-Specialty Epidemiology
Professor Ecology of Viral Infections of Swine jjzimm@iastate.edu