VDPAM Faculty Directory

Administration

Dr Pat Halbur

Patrick Halbur, DVM, MS, PhD
Chair of VDPAM, Executive Director of ISU VDL
Circovirus, Hepatitis E Virus, Swine Respiratory Disease, PRRSV
515-294-5528
pghalbur@iastate.edu

Dr. Rodger Main Rodger Main, DVM, PhD
Director of ISU VDL
515-294-1950
rmain@iastate.edu
Dr. Pat Gorden Patrick Gorden, DVM, ABVP-Dairy
Director of Operations FSVM
Dairy Production Medicine, Milk Quality
515-294-3096
pgorden@iastate.edu

Faculty

Name Focus Areas Phone E-mail
Arruda, Bailey
DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Pestivirus, PED, Pestivirus 515-294-5750 wilberts@iastate.edu
Arruda, Paulo
DVM, MS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Swine Production Medicine, Food Animal Diagnostic Pathology, Pestivirus 515-294-3837 paulohea@iastate.edu
Baum, David
DVM, MS, PhD
Senior Clinician
Serology 515-294-1186 dhbaum@iastate.edu
Borts, David J.
PhD
Assistant Professor
Pharmacology Analytical Support Team (PhAST) 515-294-3912 dborts@iastate.edu
Brick, Troy A.
DVM, MS
Assistant Professor
Food Animal Production Medicine and Surgery 515-294-7012 tabrick@iastate.edu
Burrough, Eric R
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor
Pathology, Brachyspira, Enteric Diseases of Swine 515-294-0190 burrough@iastate.edu
Coetzee, Hans
BVSc, Cert CHP, PhD, Diplomate ACVCP
Professor
Clinical Pharmacology, Bovine anaplasmosis, Pain assessment and management in food animals 515-294-7424 hcoetzee@iastate.edu
Cooper, V.L.
DVM, MS, PhD
Senior Clinician
BVD, Beef Cattle, Dairy, Caprine, Equine, Canine, Feline 515-294-1950 vcooper@iastate.edu
Derscheid, Rachel Jean
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Assistant Professor
Pathology 515-294-1173 rdersch@iastate.edu
Dewell, Grant
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Epidemiology, Economics, Food Safety 515-294-2822 gdewell@iastate.edu
Dohlman, Tyler
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACT
Assistant Professor
Theriogenology 515-294-1095 tdohlman@iastate.edu
Engelken, Terry
DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Cow - Calf and Stocker 515-294-2192 engelken@iastate.edu
Ensley, Steve
DVM, PhD
Senior Clinician
Toxicology, Field Investigation of Tox Issues, Drinking Water Quality 515-294-2783 sensley@iastate.edu
Gauger, Phillip C.
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Pathology, Virology, Swine Influenza, PED, PRRSV, PCV2 515-294-2437 pcgauger@iastate.edu
Gorden, Patrick J
DVM, ABVP-Dairy
Senior Clinician
Dairy Production Medicine, Milk Quality 515-294-3096 pgorden@iastate.edu
Halbur, Pat
DVM, MS, PhD
Professor and Chair
Circovirus, Hepatitis E Virus, Swine Respiratory Disease, PRRSV 515-294-6970 pghalbur@iastate.edu
Harmon, Karen M.
PhD
Senior Clinician
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics, Characterization of Animal Bacteria and Viruses 515-294-1950 kharmon@iastate.edu
Holtkamp, Derald J
DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Swine Disease Risk Assessment, Economics of Disease 515-294-9611 holtkamp@iastate.edu
Jackson, Nicole
DVM
Adjunct Instructor
515-294-1500 njackson@iastate.edu
Jahnke, Marianna M.
MS
Lecturer
Embryo Transfer, Bovine Reproduction 515-294-9110 marianna@iastate.edu
Karriker, Locke A.
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVPM
Professor
Systems, Treatment of Swine Diseases, Field Study Design, Evidence-Based Practice 515-294-2283 karriker@iastate.edu
Kreuder, Amanda
DVM, Diplomate ACVIM-LAIM
Assistant Professor
Food Animal Medicine and Surgery 515-294-2174 akreuder@iastate.edu
Krull, Adam
DVM, PhD
Clinician
Microbiology, Metagenomics, Bovine Digital Dermatitis, Johne’s Disease, Salmonella 515-294-9074 dockrull@iastate.edu
Li, Ganwu
MS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Molecular, Microbiology 515-294-3358 liganwu@iastate.edu
Linhares, Daniel C L
DVM, MBA, PhD
Assistant Professor
Swine Production Medicine, PRRS 515-294-9358 linhares@iastate.edu
Madson, Darin
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor
Swine - Nursery/Grow Finish Health 515-294-9808 madson@iastate.edu
Magstadt, Drew R
DVM, MS
Clinician
Diagnostic Pathology, PRRS, PED, Pestivirus 515-294-1950 magstadt@iastate.edu
Main, Rodger
DVM, PhD
Director
515-294-6945 rmain@iastate.edu
Millman (Hartline), Suzanne T
BSc (Agr), PhD
Associate Professor
Animal Welfare 515-294-2817 smillman@iastate.edu
O'Connor, Annette M
BVSc, MVSc, DVSc, FANZCVS (Epidemiology)
Professor
Epidemiology, Research synthesis, Zoonotic Disease-food safety, Salmonella, Infectious diseases of cattle - BVDV, Pink-eye 515-294-5012 oconnor@iastate.edu
Opriessnig, Tanja I
DVM, PhD
Professor
Pathology, Porcine Circovirus, Erysipelas, Hepatitis E Virus, Porcine Parvovirus, Swine Respiratory Diseases 515-294-1137 tanjaopr@iastate.edu
Phillips, Patrick E.
DVM, Diplomate ACT
Senior Clinician
Theriogenology 515-294-3837 ovadoc@iastate.edu
Pineyro, Pablo
DVM, MVSc, DVSc, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Swine medicine, PRRSV, PCV2, SVA, PEDV 515-294-6250 pablop@iastate.edu
Paul Plummer Plummer, Paul J
DVM, Diplomate ACVIM-LA
Associate Professor
Ruminant Medicine and Surgery, Molecular Biology, Campylobacter 515-294-8522 pplummer@iastate.edu
Rademacher, Christopher James
DVM
Senior Clinician
Swine Production Medicine 515-294-8792 cjrdvm@iastate.edu
Ramirez, Alejandro "Alex"
DVM, MPH, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM
Associate Professor
Zoonotic Diseases and Public Health, Swine Production Medicine 515-294-7463 ramireza@iastate.edu
Rumbeiha, Wilson K
DVM, PhD
Professor
Toxicology/Nutrition 515-294-0630 rumbeiha@iastate.edu
Sahin, Orhan
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Assistant Professor
Bacteriology 515-294-3861 osahin@iastate.edu
Sato, Yuko
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACPV
Assistant Professor
Poultry Diagnostics and Production Medicine 515-294-0710 ysato@iastate.edu
Schleining, Jennifer
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS-LA
Associate Professor
Large Animal Surgery, Camelids 515-294-1500 jschlein@iastate.edu
Schwartz, Kent J
DVM, MS
Senior Clinician
Pathology, Swine and Beef Diagnostics, Evidence-Based Practice, Pestivirus 515-294-1177 kschwart@iastate.edu
Shearer, Jan
DVM, MS
Professor
Dairy Production Medicine, Lameness, Animal Welfare 515-294-3731 jks@iastate.edu
Smith, Joe
DVM, MPS, Diplomate ACVIM (LAIM)
Clinician
Large animal internal medicine, Clinical pharmacology 515-294-3837 jss303@iastate.edu
Stevenson, Gregory
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Professor
Pathology, Swine Diseases, Diagnostic Medicine in Food Production Animals 515-294-1124 stevengw@iastate.edu
Still Brooks, Kelly M.
DVM, MPH, Diplomate ACVPM
Clinician
Food Animal Production Medicine and Surgery 515-294-3837 kmstill@iastate.edu
Timms, Leo
PhD, MS
Morrill Professor in Animal Science
Dairy Production Medicine and Extension 515-291-7371 ltimms@iastate.edu
Wang, Chong
PhD
Associate Professor
515-294-3836 chwang@iastate.edu
Wiley, Caitlin
DVM
Adjunct Instructor
Theriogenology 515-294-3837 cwiley@iastate.edu
Ydstie, Joshua A
DVM
Adjunct Instructor
Dairy Production Medicine 515-294-2538 jaydstie@iastate.edu
Yoon, Kyoungjin J.
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Professor
Viral Diseases and Diagnostics, PRRS, PED, Influenza, Parainfluenza, Rotavirus, Senecavirus, Techovirus 515-294-1083 kyoon@iastate.edu
Zhang, Jianqiang
MD, MS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics 515-294-8024 jqzhang@iastate.edu
Zimmerman, Jeffrey J
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM-Specialty Epidemiology
Professor
Ecology of Viral Infections of Swine 515-294-1073 jjzimm@iastate.edu