VDPAM Faculty Directory

Administration

Gorden, Patrick J DVM, PhD, ABVP-Dairy
Clinical Professor
Dairy Production Medicine, Milk Quality
515-294-3096
pgorden@iastate.edu
Halbur, Pat DVM, MS, PhD
Interim Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
Professor
Executive Director, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
Circovirus, Hepatitis E Virus, Swine Respiratory Disease, PRRSV
515-294-9860
pghalbur@iastate.edu
Karriker, Locke A. DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVPM
Interim Chair
Dr. Douglas and Ann Gustafson Professorship for Teaching Excellence in Veterinary Medicine
Professor
Systems, Treatment of Swine Diseases, Field Study Design, Evidence-Based Practice
515-294-6970
karriker@iastate.edu
Main, Rodger DVM, PhD
Director
Diagnostic Medicine, Area Regional Disease Control, Swine Production Medicine
515-294-6945
rmain@iastate.edu

Faculty

Name Focus Areas Phone E-mail
Arruda, Bailey
DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Pestivirus, PED, Pestivirus 515-294-5750 wilberts@iastate.edu
Baum, David
DVM, MS, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Serology 515-294-1186 dhbaum@iastate.edu
Borts, David J.
PhD
Assistant Professor
Pharmacology Analytical Support Team (PhAST) 515-294-3912 dborts@iastate.edu
Brick, Troy A.
DVM, MS
Assistant Professor
Food Animal Production Medicine and Surgery 515-294-7012 tabrick@iastate.edu
Burrough, Eric R
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor
Pathology, Brachyspira, Enteric Diseases of Swine 515-294-0190 burrough@iastate.edu
Cerfogli, Frank M.
DVM
Clinical Assistant Professor
515-294-8493 cerfogli@iastate.edu
Clavijo, Maria
DVM, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Bacteriology, Mycoplasma 612-868-4396 mclavijo@iastate.edu
Cooper, V.L.
DVM, MS, PhD
Clinical Professor
BVD, Beef Cattle, Dairy, Caprine, Equine, Canine, Feline 515-294-1950 vcooper@iastate.edu
Derscheid, Rachel Jean
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Assistant Professor
Pathology 515-294-1173 rdersch@iastate.edu
Dewell, Grant
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Epidemiology, Economics, Food Safety 515-294-2822 gdewell@iastate.edu
Dohlman, Tyler
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACT
Assistant Professor
Theriogenology 515-294-1095 tdohlman@iastate.edu
El-Gazzar, Mohamed Medhat
DVM, MAM, PhD, Diplomate ACPV
Assistant Professor
Poultry 515-294-1763 elgazzar@iastate.edu
Engelken, Terry
DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Beef Production Medicine, Cow - Calf and Stocker 515-294-2192 engelken@iastate.edu
Gauger, Phillip C.
DVM, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Pathology, Virology, Swine Influenza, PED, PRRSV, PCV2 515-294-2437 pcgauger@iastate.edu
Gimenez-Lirola, Luis
MS, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor
Serology 515-294-1796 luisggl@iastate.edu
Harmon, Karen M.
PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics, Characterization of Animal Bacteria and Viruses 515-294-1950 kharmon@iastate.edu
Holtkamp, Derald J
DVM, MS
Associate Professor
Swine Disease Risk Assessment, Economics of Disease 515-294-9611 holtkamp@iastate.edu
Jahnke, Marianna M.
MS
Senior Lecturer
Embryo Transfer, Bovine Reproduction 515-294-9110 marianna@iastate.edu
Juarez, Jessie
MS, DVM
Lecturer
Summer Vet Camp, African Scholars 515-294-4351 jessiej@iastate.edu
Kreuder, Amanda
DVM, Diplomate ACVIM-LAIM
Assistant Professor
Food Animal Medicine and Surgery 515-294-2174 akreuder@iastate.edu
Larios, Alejandro
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Postdoc Research Associate
515-294-3837 alarios@iastate.edu
Li, Ganwu
MS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Molecular, Microbiology 515-294-3358 liganwu@iastate.edu
Linhares, Daniel C L
DVM, MBA, PhD
Assistant Professor
Swine Production Medicine, PRRS 515-294-9358 linhares@iastate.edu
Madson, Darin
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Associate Professor
Swine - Nursery/Grow Finish Health 515-294-9808 madson@iastate.edu
Magstadt, Drew
DVM, MS
Clinical Assistant Professor
Diagnostic Pathology, PRRS, PED, Pestivirus 515-294-5720 magstadt@iastate.edu
Millman, Suzanne T

Professor
515-294-2817 smillman@iastate.edu
Mochel, Jonathan Paul M
DVM, MSc, PhD, Diplomate ECVPT
Associate Professor
515-294-7424 jmochel@iastate.edu
O'Connor, Annette M
BVSc, MVSc, DVSc, FANZCVS (Epidemiology)
Professor
Epidemiology, Research synthesis, Zoonotic Disease-food safety, Salmonella, Infectious diseases of cattle - BVDV, Pink-eye 515-294-5012 oconnor@iastate.edu
Opriessnig, Tanja I
DVM, PhD
Professor
Pathology, Porcine Circovirus, Erysipelas, Hepatitis E Virus, Porcine Parvovirus, Swine Respiratory Diseases 515-294-1137 tanjaopr@iastate.edu
Pineyro, Pablo
DVM, MVSc, DVSc, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pathology, Swine medicine, PRRSV, PCV2, SVA, PEDV 515-294-6250 pablop@iastate.edu
Paul Plummer Plummer, Paul J
DVM, Diplomate ACVIM-LA
Associate Professor
Ruminant Medicine and Surgery, Molecular Biology, Campylobacter 515-294-8522 pplummer@iastate.edu
Rademacher, Christopher James
DVM
Associate Director
Swine Production Medicine 515-294-8792 cjrdvm@iastate.edu
Ramirez, Alejandro "Alex"
DVM, MPH, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM
Interim Assistant Dean
Zoonotic Diseases and Public Health, Swine Production Medicine 515-294-7463 ramireza@iastate.edu
Rumbeiha, Wilson K
DVM, PhD
Professor
Toxicology/Nutrition 515-294-0630 rumbeiha@iastate.edu
Sahin, Orhan
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Assistant Professor
Bacteriology 515-294-3861 osahin@iastate.edu
Sato, Yuko
DVM, MS, Diplomate ACPV
Assistant Professor
Poultry Diagnostics and Production Medicine 515-294-0710 ysato@iastate.edu
Schwartz, Kent J
DVM, MS
Clinical Professor
Pathology, Swine and Beef Diagnostics, Evidence-Based Practice, Pestivirus 515-294-1177 kschwart@iastate.edu
Shearer, Jan
DVM, MS
Professor
Dairy Production Medicine, Lameness, Animal Welfare 515-294-3731 jks@iastate.edu
Smith, Joe
DVM, MPS, Diplomate ACVIM (LAIM), CVMA
Clinical Assistant Professor
Large animal internal medicine, Clinical pharmacology 515-294-3943 jss303@iastate.edu
Stevenson, Gregory
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVP
Professor
Pathology, Swine Diseases, Diagnostic Medicine in Food Production Animals 515-294-1124 stevengw@iastate.edu
Wang, Chong
PhD
Associate Professor
515-294-3836 chwang@iastate.edu
Wiley, Caitlin
DVM, MS
Clinical Assistant Professor
Theriogenology 515-294-3837 cwiley@iastate.edu
Yoon, Kyoungjin J.
DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACVM
Professor
Viral Diseases and Diagnostics, PRRS, PED, Influenza, Parainfluenza, Rotavirus, Senecavirus, Techovirus 515-294-1083 kyoon@iastate.edu
Zhang, Jianqiang
MD, MS, PhD
Associate Professor
Molecular and Viral Diagnostics 515-294-8024 jqzhang@iastate.edu
Zimmerman, Jeffrey J
DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVPM-Specialty Epidemiology
Professor
Ecology of Viral Infections of Swine 515-294-1073 jjzimm@iastate.edu