Alumni Awards

Stange Award
The Stange Award for Meritorious Service in Veterinary Medicine is the highest award presented to distinguished alumni in Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine.

The award is presented annually for outstanding professional achievement in the area of education, government, industry, practice or other professional endeavors in veterinary medicine. It was established in 1970 by the Veterinary Medical Alumni Association at Iowa State University and named for Dr. Charles H. Stange who was dean of the college from 1906-1936.

2020 Stange Award Recipients

  • Dr. Gary Borkowski ('87)
  • Dr. Laura Molgaard ('91)

See a list of past Stange Award Recipients

The William P. Switzer Award
The William P. Switzer Award was created in 1998 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society and to the ISU College of Veterinary Medicine. Nominees may be veterinarians or non-veterinarians, alumni or non-alumni. In addition to professional achievements, these individuals will also have had an association with the College that has made a positive impact for teaching, research or service.

The Switzer Award was named to honor an ISU researcher who made major contributions to our understanding of swine respiratory diseases. Dr. William P. Switzer served as a faculty member and administrator in the College of Veterinary Medicine from 1948 until he retired as Distinguished Professor Emeritus in 1990.

2020 William P. Switzer Award Recipient

  • Dr. Charles Lemme ('75)

See a list of past William P. Switzer Award Recipients

The Lorraine J. Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award
The Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award is given to an individual who received a master’s and/or PhD from the College of Veterinary Medicine. The award honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievement or leadership in making significant, influential or innovative contributions to society.

The Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award was created in 2019 to honor the contributions of Dr. Lorriane J. Hoffman who had over 35 years of professional experience as a diagnostic microbiologist at Iowa State and as director of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory where she was known for her love of serving practitioners and livestock and animal owners as well as mentoring students at all levels. Dr. Hoffman received her PhD in bacteriology at Iowa State In 1974.

2020 Lorraine J. Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award Recipient

  • Dr. Michael Roof (MS '89 & PhD '91)

See a list of past Lorraine J. Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award Recipients

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award 
The Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizes College of Veterinary Medicine alumnus who have excelled in the veterinary profession and/or provided service to their community 10 years or less after their DVM graduation.

2020 Outstanding Young Alumni Award Recipient

  • Dr. Sherry Johnson ('12)

See a list of past Outstanding Young Alumni Award Recipients