Awards Presented to CVM Graduating Seniors

May 10, 2024

The College of Veterinary Medicine has presented awards and scholarships to the DVM graduating class of 2024.

The awards were presented Thursday, May 9, at a ceremony co-sponsored by the Iowa Veterinary Medical Association.

Recipients included:

  • American Association of Feline Practitioners Outstanding Senior Award - Tatiana Garcia Marrero
  • American College of Veterinary Ophthalmology Award - Meredith McClure
  • American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM) Certificate of Clinical Excellence - Emma Duman (small animal), Savannah Saboda (small animal), Bailey Fisher (large animal)
  • American College of Veterinary Pathologists Outstanding Achievement, Proficiency and Interest in Veterinary Pathology Award - Krysta McMahan
  • American College of Veterinary Radiology Senior Award - Amelia Burkinshaw
  • AAVD Dermatology Senior Veterinary Student Award - Corey Hansen
  • Award for Clinical Proficiency in Surgery - Taylor Sorrells (large animal), Emily Humphreys (small animal)
  • G.G. Graham Prize (Large Animal) - Fina Choat
  • G.G. Graham Prize (Small Animal) - Leah Hayes
  • Margaret A. Haines Scholarship in Equine Medicine and Surgery - Anthony Cervone
  • Interstate Veterinary Medical Association - Jaden Austin, Nicole Sterzinger
  • IVMA Foundation Sustaining Involvement with the IVMA Scholarship - Anna Fleming, Holden Hooyer, Helen Kilian, Carly Klavins, Jacob Loehr, Lizeth Lopez, Sienna Piersma, Brook Ruiter, Kaitlyn Wesley
  • IVMA Bovine Preconditioning Program Scholarship - David DeBower, Torrie Ferrari, Brandon Gassman, Nick Jacobs, Austin Lange, Thomas Lehmann
  • Bob Rosenthall Senior Student Award for Proficiency in Clinical Oncology - Shannon Miller
  • Society for Theriogenology Proficiency in Theriogenology Award - Tressa Reiner
  • Veterinary Medicine Alumni Association "Gentle Doctor" Award - Megan Kellen
  • American Animal Hospital Association Award for Proficiency in Primary Care - Ashley Hayes
  • Dechra Excellence in Dermatology - Emma Iverson
  • Dechra Excellence in Small Animal Internal Medicine - Samantha Laham
  • Dechra Excellence in Equine Sports Medicine - Emily Crawford
  • ISU Excellence in Swine Research Award - Glorianne Vazquez
  • ISU Excellence in Swine Practice Award - McKenna Brinning
  • Dr. Dominic Gentile Virtuous Veterinarian Award - Dallas Angove
  • Veterinary Business Certificate with Honors - Elizabeth Kenney
  • VECCS Award for Proficiency in Emergency and Critical Care - Jesse Huerta
  • Foundation of Veterinary Dentistry Award - Leah Hayes
  • R.W. Carithers Award - Brady Trego, Melanie Wendt
  • Daniel M. Betts Award for Excellence in Ophthalmology - Tarah Peterson
  • North American Veterinary Anesthesia Society / American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia Award - Anthony Cervone, Kale Tilley