CVM to Honor Five with Alumni Awards

November 2, 2023

The College of Veterinary Medicine will present five individuals with its alumni awards during Homecoming celebrations Nov. 3-4.

The recipients include:

Stange Award

  • Dr. Karen Becker ('97) is the world's most followed veterinarian on social media and the co-author of The New York Times bestseller The Forever Dog
  • Dr. Bryan Buss ('89), CDC Career Epidemiology Field Officer in Omaha, Neb., after serving as Nebraska's State Veterinarian where he managed statewide public health responses.

William P. Switzer Award

  • Dr. Adam Christman ('04) serves as the chief veterinary officer for Fetch Conferences and ACVC Conference.

Lorriane J. Hoffman Graduate Alumni Award

  • Dr. Larry Sadler (PhD '13, biomedical science) is vice president of animal welfare for United Egg Producers, where he works to collaboratively address legislative, regulatory and advocacy issues.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

  • Dr. Cara Haden ('14), associate veterinarian at Pipestone Veterinary Services where she educates people on misconceptions of the swine industry through social media posts.