Halbur Named IVMA Veterinarian of the Year

September 21, 2018

Dr. Pat Halbur, the Dr. Stephen G. Juelsgaard Interim Dean of Veterinary Medicine, has been named the Veterinarian of the Year by the Iowa Veterinary Medical Association (IVMA).

Halbur, a 1986 DVM graduate of Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine, was recognized Friday (Sept. 21) at an IVMA luncheon.

Halbur also received the Outstanding Service Award from Iowa State's Veterinary Medicine Alumni Association (VMAA). He was recognized along with Dr. Roy Schultz ('60) of Avoca, Iowa, a long-time swine veterinarian, mentor and educator.

Three other IVMA award winners also have Iowa State connections.

  • Dr. Teresa Carmichael ('90), a veterinarian with the Mahaska Veterinary Clinic in Oskaloosa, received the President's Award. 
  • Dr. Kristen Obbink (2011), veterinary specialist with the Center for Food Security and Public Health in the College of Veterinary Medicine, received the Rising Star Award.
  • Lori Moran, veterinary technician with Iowa State's Lloyd Veterinary Medical Center, was named the recipient of the Healthcare Team Member Service Award.

Pictured from the left, Dr. Teresa Carmichael, Lori Moran, Dr. Pat Halbur and Dr. Kristen Obbink.

Pictured from the left, Dr. Pat Halbur and Dr. Roy Schultz