Alumni Awards

Stange Award
The Stange Award for Meritorious Service in Veterinary Medicine is the highest award presented to distinguished alumni in Iowa State University's College of Veterinary Medicine.

The award is presented annually for outstanding professional achievement in the area of education, government, industry, practice or other professional endeavors in veterinary medicine. It was established in 1970 by the Veterinary Medical Alumni Association at Iowa State University and named for Dr. Charles H. Stange who was dean of the college from 1906-1936.

2018 Stange Award Recipients

  • Dr. T. Robert Bashara ('63)
  • Dr. Daryl Olsen ('82)
  • Dr. Martin R Smith ('76)

See a list of past Stange Award Recipients

The William P. Switzer Award
The William P. Switzer Award was created in 1998 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society and to the ISU College of Veterinary Medicine. Nominees may be veterinarians or non-veterinarians, alumni or non-alumni. In addition to professional achievements, these individuals will also have had an association with the College that has made a positive impact for teaching, research or service.

The Switzer Award was named to honor an ISU researcher who made major contributions to our understanding of swine respiratory diseases. Dr. William P. Switzer served as a faculty member and administrator in the College of Veterinary Medicine from 1948 until he retired as Distinguished Professor Emeritus in 1990.

2018 William P. Switzer Award Recipients

  • Dr. Darrell L. Neuberger ('77)
  • Dr. William O. Reece ('54)

See a list of past William P. Switzer Award Recipients