Council Members

Raising healthy livestock to provide safe and wholesome food to Iowa citizens and people around the world is important to Iowa's livestock farmers.  For more than 40 years, Iowa farmers, in partnership with Iowa legislators and veterinary researchers at Iowa State University, have funded research projects that address the health and well-being of livestock.

ILHAC Voting Members

     Iowa Cattlemen’s Association
     Matt Winters (Clayton County)
     Isaiah Shnurman, Prole (Warren County)
     Callie Garoutte, Adel (Dallas County)

     Iowa State Dairy Association
     Lee Maassen (Sioux County)

     Iowa Pork Producers Association
     Steve Kerns, Clearfield (Taylor County)
     Jamie Schmidt, Garner (Hancock County)
     Greg Lear, Spencer (Clay County), Chair

     Iowa Poultry Association
     Bernie Beckman (Dallas County)

     Iowa Sheep Industry Association
     Howard Lindaman, Marshalltown (Marshall County)

     Iowa Veterinary Medical Association
     Dr. John Hicks, Carroll (Carroll County)


ILHAC Advisory Members

     Iowa Cattlemen’s Association
     Matt Deppe, Chief Executive Officer 

     Iowa State Dairy Association
     Mitch Schulte, Executive Director

     Iowa Pork Producers Association
     Jamee Eggers, Producer Education

     Iowa Egg Council and Iowa Poultry Association
     Kevin Stiles, Executive Director

     Iowa Sheep Industry Association
     Michelle Harland, Treasurer

     Iowa Turkey Federation
     Gretta Irwin, Executive Director

     Iowa Veterinary Medical Association
     Dr. Randy Wheeler, Executive Director

     State Veterinarian
     Dr. David Schmitt, DVM

     Iowa State University
     Dr. Dan Grooms, Dr. Stephen G Juelsgaard Dean of Veterinary Medicine
     Dr. Qijing Zhang, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Veterinary Medicine